If I Knew You & You Knew Me

I have heard it said that everyone wears a mask to the outside world.  That we never really allow others to see our true selves.  Fear of rejection keeps us hedged in as we ceaselessly try to portray a ‘picture perfect’ life.  The world reinforces our false beliefs by reminding us constantly that we have to make a good ‘first impression’.

But, what if we met and gave each the chance to be honest with ourselves and with each other?

What if we refused to allow ‘stereotypes’ to colour our perception?

What if I truly knew you and you knew me?

Then we would realize that we are not as different as we think.  At the end of the day, we all want the same things.  We have the same dreams and aspirations.  It really matters not what corner of the universe you are at.  You and I are the same and if we only knew, then we would learn to get along.

Or as Nixon Waterman put it:

If I knew you and you knew me,
If both of us could clearly see,
And with an inner sight divine,
The meaning of your heart and mine,
I’m sure that we would differ less,
And clasp our hands in friendliness;
Our thoughts would pleasantly agree,
If I knew you and you knew me.

6 thoughts on “If I Knew You & You Knew Me

Leave a Reply

